Looking well into the ways of my household.

I was 14 years old when a friend introduced me to Jesus Christ. Sure, I knew Jesus before that. But that day I invited Him to be the Lord of my life. This meant I would take His counsel for my life. I would surrender my life to Him. Until then “I” was at the throne of my life. I decided what I wanted to do and how “I” wanted to do it. I prayed to God and asked Him to help me succeed in what “I” wanted to do with my life. But on that day Jesus became the Lord of my life. Looking back I see, I slowly allowed Him to take control of my life and mould me to His image. I still struggle with letting go and trusting him or allowing Him to do things His way.

Fast forward 12 years, I have not regretted the decision I made that day. Over the years I have grown with Him. I have learnt what pleases Him and what does not. From a childish love of “give me that, give me this” I have grown to “I will wait, You can have it and still I will love you” kind of relationship.

I thank God for the family He has put me in. More than the external house where we dwell, I thank God for the ‘home’ that he has made and to which I belong. I thank God for this wonderful husband whom He allowed me to run this journey with. I am blessed to be a co-heir with him in this grace of life (1 PET 3:7).He is a servant leader of our home just like Jesus is to the church. I thank God for all the children God has blessed us with including the death of our daughter Hannah. I trust the Lords wisdom in allowing her to depart at an early age and take my comfort in the fact that the Lord is good and what He does is good.

Our family verse has been “the desire of our soul is for His name and the remebrance of Him” Isaiah 26:8. This is what we want to be doing 10 yrs, 15 yrs, 20 yrs until the Lord comes or our body hits the ground. To remember His name, to teach our children of His name, to tell everyone we know of His name.

On a personal note, I am attracted to this verse “she looks well into the ways of her household and eats not the bread of idleness Prov 31:27. I have surrendered my life to do this. It is my prayer that as long as I live, God will enable me to look well into the ways of my household. To look well into the ways of my husband’s life and be his helpmeet, look well into my childrens’ lives, train and nourish their hearts, to look well into my house and maintain it well and keep it presentable that it may help us to be hospitable to people who God brings into our lives.

As good stewards of the blessings we have received, we want our marriage to display the glory of Jesus by selflessly loving each other and taking up our position as the man and woman God intended us to be when He created us. We want to train our children in the ways of God and have dedicated our house to God that it may be a place of encouragement for those in Christ and a place to know Jesus for those who have not known Him.

Leave a Reply

