Serving the Lord with joy and gladness

Because you did not serve the Lord your God with joy and gladness of heart…therefore you will serve your enemies” (Deut. 28:47)

This verse brings a lot of fear of God into my life. I know and have learned not to take God lightly. But, to serve Him with joy and gladness? I think I would fail often in that area. By all means, I serve the Lord, when I serve my husband, children, my home and others God has placed in my life-in that order. But I can look into my life and see clearly that I have not been serving the Lord with joy and gladness.

Now, when the Israelites did not serve the Lord with joy and gladness, He gave them over to their enemies. They were oppressed and many times they would cry out to God, and God raises a redeemer to save them from the enemies. Their years were eaten by locusts. Their lives were wasted serving the enemy. They were under constant oppression.

Isn’t this the same happening to us when we fail to serve God with joy? A similar theme runs in the first chapter of Romans where God says, because the people failed to be grateful to God, he handed them over to darkness. Many of us are serving the enemy in certain areas of our life and we don’t even realize it. We wonder why we are in so much oppression.

 Sometimes we ask in disbelief, “how in the world did I get here?”  The process had started when we did not obey the Lord in those areas with joy and gladness. In other words we thought obeying the Lord is cumbersome and heavy.
Did not our saviour tell us, “take My yoke upon you for my yoke is easy.”

So sisters,mothers, precious women of God, let us resolve to serve the Lord with joy and gladness.

Leave a Reply

