Thankful For These…

I am thankful for the Cross that saved me and gave meaning for my life. I am thankful for a Savior who was willing to trade that cross with me. He voluntarily took that cross and let me go to live my life. He took all that ugliness with joy. He did not make me miserable for having to carry my cross. He never told me He did me a favor so I owe Him. He wished I would have abundant life so He left me a note of instructions to live by. He also gave me His helper to help me and give me directions to where He is. He is still praying for me.

I am simply thankful for this revelation that changed me life as a 14 year old girl, and still continues to keep me in awe. Brings meaning to who I am and what I do. Gives me a unique identity. A unique purpose.

I am thankful for my husband who dies daily to love me and protect me. I do not know of anyone who delights in servant-hood as he does and passionately leads us to the cross. He reminds me everyday that the way up is the way down. He taught me by example how to die to my self and to invest in eternity. I am forever grateful to be an heir with him in this gracious gift of life (1 pet 3:7).

I am thankful for our parents. They help us know that what we sow today we reap tomorrow.

I am thankful for our siblings. To know we are not alone and that they would always love us first and not judge.

I am thankful for my children. They keep me on my knees. They keep me at sharpening my skills. Their demands seldom let me coast away from my purpose or from God. They teach me everyday to forgive unconditionally. They teach me to love and give. We strain ourselves to live with high standards ( standards of the bible) because we have these “clouds of witnesses” around us all the time.

I have very few friends. But I have selected the best. I am thankful for being able to be ministered by them. I have failed in my purpose to you if I have not led you to the cross by emptying myself and serving you.

This thanksgiving I choose joy over sorrow. I choose people over possessions. I choose purpose over plans. I choose death over pleasure and I choose Jesus over “just us.”

Leave a Reply

