The year in Retro- Part 2

There is one post I go back over and over again through out the year, and that is usually the one with the goals and prayers for the year. This post, for example, had a lot of goals and prayers for 2011. In restrospect, I was able to do a lot, but I doubt how much of it <span caption="Review this sentence for use of the passive voice" class="PassiveVoice alert" critical="true" description="

Ensure you have not overused the passive voice in your work.

This sentence is written in the passive voice; consider changing it to the active voice. The passive voice refers to the subject receiving the action; the active voice refers to the subject doing the action. While the passive voice is perfectly acceptable in formal writing, it may not effectively persuade the reader. In modern society, people are often convinced by facts; the active voice sounds more like a fact, or a certainty.

Incorrect: Rules are often broken by rebellious teenagers.
Grammatically, this sentence is correct; however, it is more forceful to use the active voice: Rebellious teenagers often break rules.

Incorrect: It has been demonstrated by scientists that smoking causes cancer.
This sentence is more convincing if written in the active voice: Scientists have demonstrated that smoking causes cancer.

N.B. The passive voice should be used in cases where the information is unknown, irrelevant, or should not be mentioned (i.e. when being subtle). It is also used when writing in an impersonal manner to avoid use of pronouns.

Correct: The bowl was broken in the scuffle.
This sentence could replace an accusative sentence, such as “She broke the bowl!”. Use of the passive voice may also put the emphasis where it is most needed:

Correct: It is thought that Shakespeare may have been a group of writers rather than a single author.

” grammarpoint=”Passive voice used where active is more appropriate” name=”” sentence=”As I look back on retrospection, I was able to do a lot, but I doubt how much of it was accomplished with grace.” style=”background-color: white; color: #191c1e; font-family: ‘Trebuchet MS’; font-size: 13px; line-height: 19px;”>was accomplished with grace. The Bible says my work <span caption="Review this sentence for use of the passive voice" class="PassiveVoice alert" critical="true" description="

Ensure you have not overused the passive voice in your work.

This sentence is written in the passive voice; consider changing it to the active voice. The passive voice refers to the subject receiving the action; the active voice refers to the subject doing the action. While the passive voice is perfectly acceptable in formal writing, it may not effectively persuade the reader. In modern society, people are often convinced by facts; the active voice sounds more like a fact, or a certainty.

Incorrect: Rules are often broken by rebellious teenagers.
Grammatically, this sentence is correct; however, it is more forceful to use the active voice: Rebellious teenagers often break rules.

Incorrect: It has been demonstrated by scientists that smoking causes cancer.
This sentence is more convincing if written in the active voice: Scientists have demonstrated that smoking causes cancer.

N.B. The passive voice should be used in cases where the information is unknown, irrelevant, or should not be mentioned (i.e. when being subtle). It is also used when writing in an impersonal manner to avoid use of pronouns.

Correct: The bowl was broken in the scuffle.
This sentence could replace an accusative sentence, such as “She broke the bowl!”. Use of the passive voice may also put the emphasis where it is most needed:

Correct: It is thought that Shakespeare may have been a group of writers rather than a single author.

” grammarpoint=”Passive voice used where active is more appropriate” name=”” sentence=”The Bible says my work will be tested and revealed with fire.” style=”background-color: white; color: #191c1e; font-family: ‘Trebuchet MS’; font-size: 13px; line-height: 19px;”>will be tested and revealed with fire. “…his work <span caption="Review this sentence for use of the passive voice" class="PassiveVoice alert" critical="true" description="

Ensure you have not overused the passive voice in your work.

This sentence is written in the passive voice; consider changing it to the active voice. The passive voice refers to the subject receiving the action; the active voice refers to the subject doing the action. While the passive voice is perfectly acceptable in formal writing, it may not effectively persuade the reader. In modern society, people are often convinced by facts; the active voice sounds more like a fact, or a certainty.

Incorrect: Rules are often broken by rebellious teenagers.
Grammatically, this sentence is correct; however, it is more forceful to use the active voice: Rebellious teenagers often break rules.

Incorrect: It has been demonstrated by scientists that smoking causes cancer.
This sentence is more convincing if written in the active voice: Scientists have demonstrated that smoking causes cancer.

N.B. The passive voice should be used in cases where the information is unknown, irrelevant, or should not be mentioned (i.e. when being subtle). It is also used when writing in an impersonal manner to avoid use of pronouns.

Correct: The bowl was broken in the scuffle.
This sentence could replace an accusative sentence, such as “She broke the bowl!”. Use of the passive voice may also put the emphasis where it is most needed:

Correct: It is thought that Shakespeare may have been a group of writers rather than a single author.

” grammarpoint=”Passive voice used where active is more appropriate” name=”” sentence=””…his work will be shown for what it is, because the Day will bring it to light.” style=”background-color: white; color: #191c1e; font-family: ‘Trebuchet MS’; font-size: 13px; line-height: 19px;”>will be shown for what it is, because the Day will bring it to light. It <span caption="Review this sentence for use of the passive voice" class="PassiveVoice alert" critical="true" description="

Ensure you have not overused the passive voice in your work.

This sentence is written in the passive voice; consider changing it to the active voice. The passive voice refers to the subject receiving the action; the active voice refers to the subject doing the action. While the passive voice is perfectly acceptable in formal writing, it may not effectively persuade the reader. In modern society, people are often convinced by facts; the active voice sounds more like a fact, or a certainty.

Incorrect: Rules are often broken by rebellious teenagers.
Grammatically, this sentence is correct; however, it is more forceful to use the active voice: Rebellious teenagers often break rules.

Incorrect: It has been demonstrated by scientists that smoking causes cancer.
This sentence is more convincing if written in the active voice: Scientists have demonstrated that smoking causes cancer.

N.B. The passive voice should be used in cases where the information is unknown, irrelevant, or should not be mentioned (i.e. when being subtle). It is also used when writing in an impersonal manner to avoid use of pronouns.

Correct: The bowl was broken in the scuffle.
This sentence could replace an accusative sentence, such as “She broke the bowl!”. Use of the passive voice may also put the emphasis where it is most needed:

Correct: It is thought that Shakespeare may have been a group of writers rather than a single author.

” grammarpoint=”Passive voice used where active is more appropriate” name=”” sentence=”It will be revealed with fire, and the fire will test the quality of each man’s work.” 1 Cor 3:13.” style=”background-color: white; color: #191c1e; font-family: ‘Trebuchet MS’; font-size: 13px; line-height: 19px;”>will be revealed with fire, and the fire will test the quality of each man’s work.” 1 Cor 3:13.

As I look back in the year past, I testify to the grace of God in using me, a feeble, apart from Him- a sinner, to do the little I had hoped for. My intention is that, somehow it will challenge me to draw the grace of God, abide in Him and do His will for me.

These were some of the goals for 2011.

I would remain in Him

I would work hard

I would grow in humility

That Christ would hold me together spiritually, emotionally and physically To transition smoothly to a family of five with the baby’s arrival in February To budget well

To do preschool with Abigail 3xweek structured

To introduce the gospel to one family this year To attempt one or two projects that I have not done before To read 3-4 noble books

When I asked myself if I had remained in Him, that is when I discovered that I had been in a self sufficient mode most of the time. I purpose and pray that, in the coming year, I would remain in Him by being intentional about choosing the grace mode. That, I would grow in the grace of Jesus Christ.

Yes, grace enabled me to work hard. There was a lot of work that called for me in the house and outside. Though, by personality, I am hard on myself and do not let me take credits, by grace I realize I worked hard.

Growing in humility….reminds me of those perfume samples that come home, asking me to scratch the surface to reveal the perfume. Perhaps, that is what I did with humility. I barely was able to scratch the surface of this virtue my savior is full of. In the coming year, I pray that I would grow in humility. This is a dangerous prayer to pray because God will send many situations my way, which will force me, to be humble. Yes, sanctification will cost me. It is painful and ugly, but, that is the way of the cross!

God did help us to transition to a family of five, in February. There were lots of “ups” and “downs” with hormonal changes. I went through a time of extreme helplessness. I have not experienced postpartum depression before. I am not even going to label it as PPD. Whatever it was, I am glad, God did not let it overcome me. I am still alive, and God is not yet done with me!

I did budgeting, up until the baby <span caption="Review this sentence for use of the passive voice" class="PassiveVoice alert" critical="true" description="

Ensure you have not overused the passive voice in your work.

This sentence is written in the passive voice; consider changing it to the active voice. The passive voice refers to the subject receiving the action; the active voice refers to the subject doing the action. While the passive voice is perfectly acceptable in formal writing, it may not effectively persuade the reader. In modern society, people are often convinced by facts; the active voice sounds more like a fact, or a certainty.

Incorrect: Rules are often broken by rebellious teenagers.
Grammatically, this sentence is correct; however, it is more forceful to use the active voice: Rebellious teenagers often break rules.

Incorrect: It has been demonstrated by scientists that smoking causes cancer.
This sentence is more convincing if written in the active voice: Scientists have demonstrated that smoking causes cancer.

N.B. The passive voice should be used in cases where the information is unknown, irrelevant, or should not be mentioned (i.e. when being subtle). It is also used when writing in an impersonal manner to avoid use of pronouns.

Correct: The bowl was broken in the scuffle.
This sentence could replace an accusative sentence, such as “She broke the bowl!”. Use of the passive voice may also put the emphasis where it is most needed:

Correct: It is thought that Shakespeare may have been a group of writers rather than a single author.

” grammarpoint=”Passive voice used where active is more appropriate” name=”” sentence=”I did budgeting, up until the baby was born.” style=”background-color: white; color: #191c1e; font-family: ‘Trebuchet MS’; font-size: 13px; line-height: 19px;”>was born. We had a lot of needs to be taken care of with the arrival of parents and families to help us during that time. Budgeting did not work at all, for us, during that time, and we fell of the budgeting bandwagon big time!. Still have not caught up.

We did preschool decently. Daniel also started schooling this year. I started him off with sitting time on a blanket, alphabet recognition, numbers, some sight words etc. Both Abigail and Daniel have done a beautiful job this year. I know there are many, many years of schooling ahead!. I am taking one day at a time by grace.

God enabled me to share the hope of my life with few people this year. Looking forward to more God ordained opportunities next year.

I did attempt three projects. One was making a bicycle diaper baby for a friend’s babyshower, Then I attempted making apple butter. The third one was the book God enabled us to publish.

I did read some excellent books. Most of my readings were from Pastor John Piper’s website, along with a couple of other e books and blogs.

Yes, that is how I summarize the last year. All in all, its not about, what things I have done, or not done, its about what I have allowed his grace to accomplish through me, that must have mattered to God. Therefore, in the coming year, my focus will be to allow God to minister grace through me. I have a renewed vision for the coming year and a lot of areas to focus. Maybe… that should be another post.

Leave a Reply

