A Minister’s Mile

25

I penned this poem in  frustration that I am not able to reach people at times with my ideas. I sometimes feel, I am too much for everybody and I hate myself for that. Yet, the message in me is so strong that I go on despite the frustration. This poem is dedicated to ministers of the gospel everywhere, who get discouraged time to time, thinking you are doing everything in vain and no one seems to care about the Message.
A Minister’s Mile
I am a minister who has walked a mile farther.
The lessons I learned, placed me ahead of my brother;
I am young and have ideas and tested in fire.
To my brother, I am a servant and minister, as I perspire.
Oh I learn truth and it changes my life.
For the joy of obedience to the truth, in me is rife.
It shakes me and grips me with a desire to influence;
 And a passion to see this in my brother, in continuance.
 I realize then, that their eyes are different;
 I gasped in pain, as I saw the loss of the ignorant.
 They are not touched, nor inspired by “The Key”
 I said, “Lord, how could they not see or learn it from me?”
He said, “Child, don’t forget I put you a mile farther to the right;
Like a candle you melt and give away the light.
This is your mile of death and waiting;
Those down the mile are still debating.
As your brother sees the light and his blindness abating;
He will catch up the mile with your light that is bright.
You see, it requires that you die as you give light ;
Rejoice for your brother’s darkness is separating.”
Dear Lord, I thank you that you taught me to wait;
My frustrations and discouragements I will not state.
“Don’t forget my child; you are still farther by a mile;
Now, don’t waste your time, practice your dying, with a smile.
“…and they commanded the people, saying, “When you see the ark of the covenant of the LORD your God with the Levitical priests carrying it, then you shall set out from your place and go after it. However, there shall be between you and it a distance of about 2,000 cubits by measure. Do not come near it, that you may know the way by which you shall go, for you have not passed this way before.” Joshua 3:3,4
Leave a Reply

