Modern Day Virtuous Woman- in Progress Part -1

Busy Mum Stock Photo - 9242148This is my attempt in writing out a parallel to the Virtuous woman in Proverbs 31. This is my story and your’s too. We love the Lord and we are the modern day virtuous women in progress. I hope you will see the Lord at work in our lives beyond the humor.

Who can find an excellent wife? – asked my husband as he came in thru the door,
 I was buried deep in the excel spreadsheets that I brought home on day four.
 He made his way to the kitchen and greeted  his excel-and-wife;
By now he had learnt to serve himself, get peanut butter and knife.

 I bring so much to the table, my duties;
better treat me worth more than rubies!

An excellent wife who can find?

She is worth far more than rubies. Proverbs 31:10

The heart of my husband safely trusts me;
except when I have the credit card and I am in the mall you see.
 He knows he lacks nothing of value
as long as the potato curry is sprinkled with cashew.

The heart of her husband trusts in her

and lacks nothing of value. Proverbs 31:11

I bring him “goods” from the mall;
There is no harm, he knows I return them all.
I have been doing that  all the days of my life,
As he carries his cross, me his dear wife.

She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life. Proverbs 31:12

I would go to Joann and select fabrics, for it to sit there;
while my patio sofa at the seams bursting  here and there.
My eager hands have been busy elsewhere.

She selects wool and flax and works with eager hands. Proverbs 31:13

Of late, I have been ordering pizzas online,
I  have gained  few pounds, I guess that’s fine.
“To go” I make sure I order soda and chips;
I have never been told before that I resemble “merchant ships”

She is like merchant ships; She brings her food from afar.  Proverbs 31:14

I wake up to my litlte monkeys jumpin on the bed,
Sure one fell down and bump his head.
Mama has to call the doctor now, and I fear;
that the doctor would say- “don’t send her to day care”.

I wish I could be up early and  make meals from scratch
As I whip up batter batch after  batch.
But that would mean for us a year, less than 100k,
That makes me think, I’d rather hit the hay.

She rises also while it is still night And gives food to her household And portions to her maidens. Proverbs 31:15 

I don’t get myself involved with finances,
He can’t handle me mad over late charges,
I can’t possibly buy a field,
when what’s left in the bank is not much of a yield.
After all, who needs a field in America to lead?

She considers a field and buys it; From her earnings she plants a vineyard.Proverbs 31:16

I download all my favorite apps,
And my iPhone apps are good for all tasks.

She sets about her work vigorously; her arms are strong for her tasks. Proverbs 31:17

The Groupon deal was sure a bargain,
The sensor on patio light, burns all night, they don’t need me again.

She makes sure her dealings are profitable; Her lamp does not go out at night. Proverbs 31:18

Leave a Reply

