Come, Feast at the Table

Yesterday we read about Discovering Appetites and how fasting ruins our self, and brings to light many of our hidden hungers. I had responses from mothers who stated that controlling their children out of fear of growing them in this perverse world, is real to them. I myself discovered in me the hunger for appreciation and self worth- not that I did not know it before, it is a constant battle where I refuse to give up, and enjoy being made much of myself and my gifting’s until hell breaks loose, and I, with much depression, learns that I had been hungering after “self.” As the scripture very aptly puts it, “Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.

 : Image of a feast of different foods on a decorative table

Refocusing Appetites

We all have done our soul search, and the Spirit of God was faithful to reveal our appetites. Now it is time to refocus these appetites to God himself. There is no craving, no appetite that He cannot meet. Only, it might not be the way we desired.

Have you been controlling?- Find the table of Perfect Love- it casts away all your fear. “There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.”1 John 4:18

Have you been taken over by entitlement appetite? Find the table of the meek and lowly one. “Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” Mathew 11:29

Have you been plagued with the appetite for materialism? Come to the table of thy maker and learn why He made you- “Everyone who is called by My name, And whom I have created for My glory, Whom I have formed, even whom I have made.” Isaiah 43:8 He made you for His glory. You have a purpose far more than acquiring things. 

Have you been battling the appetite for self worth and success? Come to the table of gem stones and listen- “Afflicted city, lashed by storms and not comforted, I will rebuild you with stones of turquoise,[
your foundations with lapis lazuli. I will make your battlements of rubies,your gates of sparkling jewels,and all your walls of precious stones.”  That is what God wants to do make you.

I pray whatever hunger it is that you are battling today, you will come to the Table of His Feast and feast on the bread of life.

Jesus you are sweeter than the pangs of our appetites. There is no hunger that you cannot satisfy. Help us to refocus every appetite towards you knowing that for every passion that is wild, you had created a real hunger for your fullness. We desire your fullness. Come and satisfy us.

If God is leading you to obey in some specific area please do not resist him today. My 3 year old resists me when I ask him to wait for his meal and fast from his snack. He has to make a choice to wait for the meal, or else he gets what he wants and what he gets will not always be what he should have gotten. 

“The new fasting, the Christian fasting, is a hunger for all the fullness of God (Ephesians 3:19), aroused by the aroma of Jesus’ love and by the taste of God’s goodness in the gospel of Christ (1 Peter 2:2–3).”  John Piper




Leave a Reply

