The Rare Title of a Biography

Very Perplexed, Agitated in Spirit, Greatly Troubled and Trying to Discern, Troubled and Pondering in Heart, Startled and Wondered…Does these titles mean anything to you? Will they be the title of the biography of someone you know?

These are words that sometimes describe me. 3 kids who are homeschooled and 4th on the way,  involved in ministry, most days I am the person with the above title’s. Sometimes a responsibility, sometimes a nudge to be faithful, other times a call to die and humble, when ever they happen or I sense God sending them my way, the above title’s describe my default mode. They describe the  pattern of my minds function.

Insane- no! greatly troubled- yes!

Now, before you call the children’s social worker hotline on me…

The above words are also the ones I saw describing  another woman in the bible. A woman I look up to. Her name is Mary and these feelings that she had are written in Luke 1: 29.

“But she was greatly troubled at the saying, and tried to discern what sort of greeting this might be.”

God send something new Mary’s way, like me her first reaction was to be perplexed, agitated in spirit, troubled and startled.

What God send Mary’s way and what Mary was troubled with was nothing but a statement of greeting-

“And he came to her and said, “Greetings, O favored one, the Lord is with you!”

To which she responded with the above mentioned words in different versions.

Mary knew the unusual greeting can challenge the rhythm of her life. She knew it was going to rock her life, nevertheless her greatness is that she embraced that calling.

“And Mary said, “Behold, I am the servant of the Lord; let it be to me according to your word.” And the angel departed from her. ” Luke 1:38

Not everyday does an angel come to my door greeting me and calling me the most favored one. But everyday His sovereignty points me to and brings to me a highly favored greeting and a calling to  conceive what looks like the most glorious, but the most painful and difficult calling to surrender to. I know saying yes to it will cost me my life, my hopes for comfort, and my desires and plans for safety and fun.

Nevertheless with the most unusual greeting also lies the potential for the coming forth of a king and His kingdom that was much awaited and much hoped for.

Dear woman of God, whatever it is that God has send your way that is causing you much agitation, much trouble, much wonder, remember the most unusual greeting that you hear from God has the potential in it to bring forth the kingdom of God and a savior to all the people if only you would go beyond the agitation, embrace it and surrender to it.

Update:

This is an article that was written in 2014. We had the 4th baby. Yes, I continue to be very perplexed and Trying to Discern at the new challenges God brings every day. Surrender is not an option but a grace clinging ride, and rewards are the perspective received when God occasionally lets me see the grand scheme through His eyes.

Leave a Reply

