Wait, I am Not Wrong!

My baby wakes up in the morning, I ask her while inhaling in her softness, “Did my baby sleep well?” “Cheep well” she replies cuddling me with her arms stretched, and dropping her head on my shoulder.
“Baby wants your blankie?” I continue. She says ” blaamie,” and reaches for it.

“Can we go downstairs,” I ask her while she gathers the blanket between me and her, and she says ” down chay”

You get the idea…she repeats the last word of every sentence I speak to her.

Sometimes, it’s so hard not to agree with and repeat the last word of our loved ones. It’s hard to ruffle any feathers while you are dependent. We don’t want to offend when we are carried and cared for. Especially… when we can’t move ourselves.

Enter the book of the grieving man in the bible —Job.

Far be it from me to say that you are right; till I die I will not put away my integrity from me. I hold fast my righteousness and will not let it go; my heart does not reproach me for any of my days. “Let my enemy be as the wicked, and let him who rises up against me be as the unrighteous.

Job 27:5‭-‬7

The above verses might sound  like the rude ranting of a drunk man to us.

The context is Job’s responses to the  emotional abuse that he had been taking from his three miserable friends in his grief.

They were desperately trying to tell Job to wise up and think that he might have done something wrong to suffer like this. They kept on persisting that Job is at fault. They needed to find a reason to defend God in unbelievable suffering.

Many times for us also, when someone we know go thru difficulties, somehow we want to defend God and find a reason to why they must be suffering and given up by everyone.
Well, Job here is in ashes, has nothing to show, no glory, no health, no family, no supporters…but one thing he does not give up is- his integrity. It might have been easier to agree with these friends and say, yes I might have sinned and be sorry…Job could have had at least the compassion and support of  his friends in this trial. But Job is not afraid to ruffle some feathers here and does not agree with whatever his friends accuses him with.

Man, what a faith! I tell you I have been thru this and it’s not easy. I have doubted, I have been tempted to agree with people’s false accusations because I had nothing to show or prove other than shame. And it was easier and tempting to at least have their pity and sympathy while suffering.

Job shows us to persevere and wait for God and not be afraid to hold on to integrity. We who have read the end of the book knows Job was vindicated at the end.
Political correctness knows no bounds these days and we are pressed into situations that demands us to give up our integrity and righteousness and agree with every ones world view. It is not easy to explain away your ashes and suffering.

Tarry a little longer…

 And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.

1 Peter 5:9-10

Leave a Reply

