Ministry of the Wounded Survivors

The song by Kutless is playing the refrain in the background:
“You’re never gonna let, never gonna let me down
You’re never gonna let, never gonna let me down.”
I open my bible to ponder Jeremiah’s words,
“Why has my pain been perpetual and my wound incurable, refusing to be healed? Will you be to me like a deceitful brook, like waters that fail?” (Jer 15:18)?
Jeremiah weeps because he knows what it is to experience perpetual pain and incurable wound, all for serving God. He received a dangerous assignment to tell an unbelieving nation that they were going to be conquered and taken away into exile. The Babylonians were coming and God was going to give His people up. Jeremiah was the bearer of the terrible news. The prophet of doom. People were going to reject the message and hate the messenger.
Jeremiah would be discredited as a false prophet, labeled as a traitor, put in the prison, and later into the sinking mud in a cistern.
God promises Jeremiah deliverance from his enemies.
Jesus’s words to John the Baptist just before his execution rings in my ears “The blind receive sight, the lame walk…the dead are raised, and the good news is preached to the poor. Blessed is the one who does not fall away on account of Me.” (Mathew 11:6)
There will be times of loneliness in our lives too. Times when our message will be out of sync with the values of the culture. Times we love the people and they hate our message. Times when we are discredited and labeled. Times when we feel God has let us down.
Blessed are we when we endure and don’t fall away on account of Him.
I weep and my tears run into the writings of the weeping prophet, as I attempt to sing with Kutless,
“you are good, good oh!”
Right there is the holy moment where three wounded survivors meet with me — Jeremiah, John the Baptist, and Jesus.
My soul transfigured, I pray “Lord, let me not fall away on account of you.”
Leave a Reply

